Thankful Thursday

Last summer, my daughter and I had the opportunity to visit the Musee D’Orsay in Paris, France. Some of the pieces normally housed there were not available for viewing. When I asked about some of these, I was informed that they were on a traveling exhibit to the United States. Casually, I asked where they were going in the US. “Nashville, Tennessee,” they said. “You’re kidding,” was my reply.

Sure enough this winter, 10 minutes from my home, the fabulous Frist Center exhibited The Birth of Impressionism: Masterpieces from the Musee D’Orsay. We have education passes, because our kids use their programs a lot for school. So, after flying across the ocean and back again, I had the privilege this week of seeing Courbet, Manet, Cezanne, and the rest. It was fantastic. Here’s my gratitude listing for this week.

  • Telephone conversations and new possibilities
  • 19th century French painters, the art they left us, and a chance to experience it with my children
  • More snow than I can ever remember for a Middle Tennessee winter
  • A great co-writing session with a new friend
  • Reconnecting with an old friend with good career counsel
  • Godly elders and their willingness to walk with me

Reflect upon your blessings, of which every man has plenty; not on your past misfortunes, of which all men have some. – Charles Dickens

About Jonathan Riggs

Singer, actor, songwriter, and entrepreneur. And I like vanilla bean.
This entry was posted in gratitude and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

