Daybreak — the songwriter’s notebook

For this month’s Songwriter’s Notebook, I want to share with you a simple song called “Daybreak.”  I was asked to lead worship for a very early morning session at conference a few years back.  The session was called “5:3” or something like that.  I asked about the name of the session and was told it was for Psalm 5:3, which reads “At daybreak, Lord, You hear my voice; at daybreak I plead my case to You and watch expectantly.(HCSB).” Perfect.

I like songs with meat and that are well crafted and have a clever turn of a phrase.  But I love a simple song that’s true.  And there’s no better source of truth than the scriptures themselves.  Some of my sweetest times of personal worship have come about by “psalming,” which is a free-form, speak-sing style of scriptural meditation, usually performed spontaneously.  That’s how this song came to be.  I like to use it early in the morning.  And when I do, I go back to that sweet place when it was written.  Just me, a guitar, a few chords, and the Truth.

Question:  What do you think?  Would you use this?  Your comments are welcome.


About Jonathan Riggs

Singer, actor, songwriter, and entrepreneur. And I like vanilla bean.
This entry was posted in songwriter's notebook and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

